Sarah’s Garden: Seeds! Seeds! Seeds!

This weekend is seed planting time!  Here’s what I’m going to start with:

Copia, Rutgers, Dr. Walter, Jersey Giant

clockwise from top left: Copia, Rutgers, Dr. Walter and Jersey Giant

First off:  tomatoes!  I’m branching out a little this year and trying some different varieties.  My beefsteaks last year were very tasty but I definitely think they needed more space.  So these are all slightly smaller since I read quite a few things saying that smaller tomatoes need less growing space.  I never seem to eat cherry or grape tomatoes so we’ll see how these work.  The Copia is orangey with stripes and the rest are red; I tried to pick ones from New Jersey or around this area because I figure if this is the climate they’re used to then maybe they’ll grow better?  Not that my tomatoes last year had any trouble growing…

Other nightshades

peppers and eggplants

Some other nightshades:  sweet yellow peppers and eggplant.  I don’t actually like peppers but apparently they grow very well with tomatoes and I’m curious to see how they do.  And the eggplant, well, I didn’t get even one eggplant from my Black Beauty eggplants last year so I decided to switch it up and try a different variety.  I’m not ready to give up on eggplant yet!

Herbs

thyme, basil

My two favorite herbs are thyme and basil and I already have mint and rosemary outside so together these make a pretty good herb garden.  I’ve never grown thyme before and it might be a little silly to grow from seed but I’m giving it a try.  And the basil is actually the same variety I grew last year.  It was so easy and I liked the taste of it so much that I’m growing it again!  I’m looking forward to more pesto so I can make my favorite sandwich in the world:  tomato, mozzarella and pesto.

Greens

arugula, spinach and lettuce

And greens!  It’s not really the right time to plant these – they don’t like really hot weather so they do best in spring and fall – but they all grow fairly quickly (about a month and half or two months to harvest.)  And the thing with these greens is that it never hurts to pick them early to eat because baby spinach and baby arugula and baby lettuce are not only more adorable but often tastier.  These three are all from last year and I don’t think that should be a problem but who knows.  Clearly if my seeds don’t sprout I will blame it on that fact.

And that’s enough to start!  I doubt I’ll have much to show for a few weeks but we will see.  I remember being quite surprised at how quickly my seedlings appeared last year.

This entry was posted in Gardening and Farming, Sarah's Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sarah’s Garden: Seeds! Seeds! Seeds!

  1. Dan Pohlig says:

    As another indication of how mild the winter was, a lettuce plant that I put in our herb box in the late season last year and then forgot about is growing out there right now! I was doing some clean up this weekend and pulled it out before I realized what it was. I cleared away some weeks that were tangled up in it and replanted it. I don’t imagine the trauma of being ripped from the dirt was all that good for it but I noticed some baby leaves on the inside so I figured I’d give it a shot. Also have 4 varieties of tomato currently under a grow light. The little guys are about 3 inches high and just started sprouting their 3rd sets of leaves after the food leaves. Out of all my seedlings last year, only two actually lived after I planted them and produced any kind of fruit. This year I’ve learned about “hardening off” the plants so they’re ready for the outdoors. Hopefully that will help. And… nerdiest thing ever… I’ve had a camera on a tripod taking pictures once a day of the seedlings so I can try a very lame and very quick stop-motion thing to show them growing. We’ll see how that works out.

    Anyway… looking forward to this year’s garden, Sarah! Love reading the posts.

Leave a Reply

