Sarah’s Garden: Happy December!

It feels strange to say that, especially because of what I found in my garden this past weekend:

photo.JPG

baby beefsteak

Oh tomatoes, you just want to keep growing, don’t you?  I don’t blame you, the weather this past week has been unseasonably warm (but that didn’t stop me from using my back patio as a back up “refrigerator” as we cooked for Thanksgiving.)  Now it seems we’re actually moving toward cooler weather so this little baby sadly didn’t make it.

I am in the process of finally getting rid of all my tomato plants (sniff sniff) but I couldn’t bring myself to throw out all the green tomatoes.  So here’s my actual last harvest of green tomatoes:

photo.JPG

This is more than it looks like

I didn’t really know what to do with them and my fridge was already full of Thanksgiving leftovers so I decided to try ripening them.  Since I had so many I tried the wrapping-them-in-newspaper method:

photo.JPG

yes, that's philly weekly

I had so many I had to use two roasting pans!

photo.JPG

again with the PW

I haven’t seen much change yet, but we’ll see what next week brings.  In the meantime, here are some handsome young tomatoes for you to admire:

photo.JPG

beefsteak

And here’s a last Beauty Queen, nice and yellow and striped:

photo.JPG

beauty

Are people’s gardens still growing?  I left my poor eggplant out there even though I’ve given up hope of ever getting any eggplant from it…I just can’t bear to let it go quite yet.

This entry was posted in Gardening and Farming, Sarah's Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sarah’s Garden: Happy December!

  1. Dan Pohlig says:

    It has been a strange season with how late the tomatoes were coming in. I had a bunch over Thanksgiving weekend that I picked and chopped up into little pieces for the worm bin. Circle of life…

  2. Fried green tomatoes? We’ve still got a few tomatoes hanging on in the backyard despite the fact that the plants are dead.

Leave a Reply

