Homemade Ricotta

Have you ever tried making homemade ricotta?  I found a recipe on one of my favorite food blogs and tried it out.  It was so easy and delicious!  All you need is milk, lemon juice, salt, and a cheese cloth.

First, heat 1 quart or 4 cups of milk over medium high heat and stir constantly.

As it comes to a slow boil, add the 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice.

Continue stirring until you start to see it curdle (about 2 minutes).

Then pour the mixture into the strainer that is lined with the cheese cloth.  Let the liquid discard for a few minutes then hang the cheese cloth for about an hour (I tied it to my faucet above my sink).

Transfer the curds to a covered container and keep in the refrigerator until you are ready to use.  I used mine in a chocolate ricotta mousse for Valentine’s Day.  Makes about 8 ounces.

Please note that I altered the recipe from The Italian Dish so if you decide to make your own, use one or the other to avoid any mishaps.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Ricotta

  1. Matt says:

    I’ve only done this a couple of times, but was surprised by not only how easy it was, but how good the cheese was.

    Rather than discarding, you can save the whey and use it for baking, say in pizza dough.

  2. Matt says:

    Hi Alison. I substituted it for water. It made the dough a little stiffer I think, but it’s hard to say if that was why. I’ve also heard that you can use it for soup.

Leave a Reply

